High Waisted

H&M shirt, Primark tribal necklace, Gold chain from local boutique (Last Tango), Vintage shorts (similar style here) , Zara mini shopper bag, Vintage bangles and chain worn as bracelet, Michael Kors watch, Casadei pumps

If you scrounge through my drawers, you may just find a few pair of cut off denim shorts or what some folks like to call hot pants. I have been an advocate of these babies since I can remember. They are like the butter to my pancakes – however, as I get older, I find my self grabbing for the blazers, over sized shirts or anything that would draw attention away from them so I wont look so hoochie mama (umm..haven’t said that word in forever but you get what I mean :)) You know it’s all about balance, so that’s why my silk and sheer loose top from H&M was the perfect match for these high waisted shorts. I can’t wait until the weather finally breaks so I can live in these.

Photography by Webster Irving Phil {here and here}

About Taliah

I have a deep affinity for style, vintage, music, vacations, friends, and love. My diary of fashion is to share my personal style, random thoughts and experiences with anyone who cares to read. I dont really follow trends, I follow what feels right. Confidence is key. xoxo
This entry was posted in Fashion, Outfits, Vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to High Waisted

  1. Shantae Johnson says:

    I absolutely love this look! You have a great body too.

  2. Kris says:

    OOh love the shorts and chunky necklace! The shoes match perfectly! I too can’t wait for it to finally be Spring weather, I wanna show off my skin! lol

  3. Channing in The City says:

    I need this entire look, if you please. Especially that bag. I love the way you layered all your jewelry and those shorts are super cute! You look gorge 🙂

  4. I know exactly what you mean! I have tons of old hotshorts but I can’t wear them like i used to xP way too hootchie! I have to pair them, like you said, with a oversized or modest looking top to balance it out and for me – TIGHTS! I guess wearing tights just makes me feel less insecure about my legs lol especially the back of my legs! Makes me nervouse when I’m not sure what’ going on back there ROFL xox

  5. Those shorts look chic on you…, but on me it wouldn’t work out that nicely! Great accessories too! You are right about balance. If you would have put a tight tank with those it would be hoochie mama! Lol! Have a wonderful weekend!

  6. Love this whole look! The throwback shorts are everything..

  7. nikki says:

    love this whole look!! especially the shorts. come stop by my blog when you get a moment.

    xo, nikki

    http://www.carryoncouture.com

  8. Lan says:

    Cute outfit! I love everything about it!

  9. Pingback: Anatomy of A Look featuring Taliah of Fashion Was Here | Mavens & Muses

  10. Chioma says:

    Love this outfit! Your bag and jewelry pulled it all together…great style :))

    Chioma
    Chocolattesbox.blogspot.com

  11. Very cute summer look, I like the blue and gold detailing with your accessories!

Comments make me smile! Let me know what you're thinking!

