Friend Friday: Beauty Products


{This pic is from my visit to London, England back in October. More pics here.}

So finally, I am participating in the Friend Friday questions from Modly Chic. I have been forgetting to share my fashion and beauty answers with you lovelies, so when I saw this week’s beauty questions, I wanted to chime in and share my favorites with you.

1. What’s your favorite drug store makeup product and your favorite higher-end product?

Honestly, when asked this question I scrambled through my bag only to find one beauty product from a drug store and that would be my L’oreal Double Extend Mascara which I’ve been purchasing recently since my budget has been tighter. I love this mascara because it has the primer (which always preps my lashes evenly) and the blackest black mascara (which destroyed my trench coat recently) and it extends my lashes the best. I am usually an advocate of department store brands like Smashbox, MAC, Makeup Forever, Urban Decay, and Lancome. The funny thing is Lancome owns L’oreal, so of course their products are similar. Which brings me to my favorite higher-end makeup product which is Lancome Definicils black mascara and their Juicy Tubes in “miracle.” I really love Lancome’s makeup line but I have been trying to fall back on expensive makeup.

2. Is there one type of product that is your go-to, can’t live without?

Yes! I would have to say my Bobby Brown tinted moisturizer. I am not the biggest fan of foundation, maybe because I don’t really know how to apply it, but this moisturizer is so care-free because you can apply just like any regular face moisturizer. Only difference is it adds a luminous, natural glow to my face and cheekbones. Another favorite product is Rosebud Salve’s strawberry Lip balm. I find myself applying this all day, non-stop. Its so soft and fresh and also when my hands are a bit ashy or cuticles are looking dry, I use it for that too. It’s the best!

3. What’s the best hair product you’ve ever used?

Okay, so I have the thickest, driest hair which is a gift and a curse, so I would have to say my number one hair product would be Jane Carter Solutions Nourish and Shine. I feel like it was made just for my hair type because of the ingredients, Shea butter, Kokum butter, Illippe butter, Mango butter, Vitamins A, D, & E, pear and grapefruit essential oils. it is designed for natural hair and other types but it doesn’t make my hair feel greasy or weighed down. My hair absorbs it perfectly. My other two products would be Redken Butter cream for deep conditioning and this hair oil for shine (can’t think of the brand right now)

4. Fess up, what’s the worst beauty look you’ve tried to rock and look back at now with a little shame or apprehension that you actually did that?

I would probably have to say the deep lip liner look, that made me look like an old school back up dancer for Biz Markie or some 90’s rapper. lol I don’t have too many beauty mistakes because I am not a big makeup person and I like the minimal look better than a “beat face.” But yeah, buying the cheap black lip liner from my local beauty supply store for $.99 to imperfectly line it around my lips and then cover it with thick gooey lip gloss was probably my most shameful makeup phase.

5. When it comes to beauty products, we all use the same basic products. What do you use that helps show off your personal flare and personality?

I like to use Avon’s deep blue eyeliner usually on my lower lash after applying Smashbox concealer. I think it helps enhance my eyes and it applies very smoothly. This has always been my favorite. I also like to add a berry tone dewy blush to the apples of my cheeks to add life to my face. I prefer Bobby brown or Tarte. They are the best in my opinion. Another favorite product is Dior lip gloss which makes me feel like I am wearing diamonds on my lips. Ooh la la. 😀

Have a Great Friday and weekend!!!

xoxo

About Taliah

I have a deep affinity for style, vintage, music, vacations, friends, and love. My diary of fashion is to share my personal style, random thoughts and experiences with anyone who cares to read. I dont really follow trends, I follow what feels right. Confidence is key. xoxo
This entry was posted in Beauty Talk, Friend Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friend Friday: Beauty Products

  1. cecylia says:

    I love your top, the black details look a little like sparrows 🙂

Comments make me smile! Let me know what you're thinking!

