Shrimp & Grits: Southern Style

The best things in life are food. Yes and of course other things, but I am such a food junkie and soon-to-be food connoisseur that I find myself being inspired by it. Some of you may be familiar with the Southern dish, Shrimp & Grits, I’ve had it once or twice at Soul and Southern dining restaurants and always thought it was a unique combo. When I think of dishes like Shrimp & Grits, I think of New Orleans -or Nawlins rather..lol and it takes me to a different place. Sometimes you have to venture out and try new things to make yourself feel somewhere far away from where your physical is. That’s what food does for me. It’s such an inspiration.

Anyway, I think my first jab at this dish was surprisingly yummy and I am actually making it again this weekend. Don’t knock it until you try it!

Excuse the pan…I cooked the shrimp in it first, so that’s why it looks messy. (Red peppers, green peppers, and green onions)

Lots of shrimp…mmm. I may splurge on the jumbo next time. (budgetnista)

The only thing I may have done wrong was use too much shrimp. I think it overpowered the grits. The balance was a little off but i still LOVED it.

So let’s do a comparison. Here are some Google images of professional recipes. I think my version looks decent for my first shot at it. The taste was superb too.

xoxo

About Taliah

I have a deep affinity for style, vintage, music, vacations, friends, and love. My diary of fashion is to share my personal style, random thoughts and experiences with anyone who cares to read. I dont really follow trends, I follow what feels right. Confidence is key. xoxo
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments make me smile! Let me know what you're thinking!

