DVF in Harper’s Bazaar

Wanted to share with you lovelies this intriguing interview with icon Diane Von Furstenberg; the lady who had a big influence in fashion through her invention of the classic wrap dress.

Here are some excerpts of the interview.

HB: What has your mission been?
DVF: To empower women. Why? Because I wanted to be an empowered woman, and I became an empowered woman. And now I want to empower every woman. And I do it through my clothes, I do it through my words, I do it through my money, I do it through everything.

HB: Do you still love the wrap dress?

DVF: Yes, I mean, listen, how can I not? It paid for all my bills.

HB: Is there anything in your life that’s made you insecure?

DVF: I used to be very insecure about my curly hair, because I lived in a country where everybody had blonde straight hair.

HB: When did you get over it?

DVF: One day in 1976, I did a picture for the cover of Interview. And I had my hair very straight, blown out, and so we did the shoot, we shot the picture. And then my friend the photographer said, “Now wet your hair.” And I said, “What do you mean? I can’t wet my hair.” And he said, “I just want to try something.” And my hair was superfrizzy, and of course that’s what ran on the cover, and that’s how I’ve worn it since. (Picture below)

Her on how the wrap dress came about:

HB: How would you describe your own style?

DVF: I like to think that my style and the clothes I design are effortlessly elegant and sexy. I think the word effortless is very important. I think that that creates an ease and a confidence, because I think there’s nothing more beautiful than a woman who’s confident.

My wrap dress was almost accidental. It’s the most traditional shape, like the kimono shape, no buttons or zipper, and it wraps. But what was different about it is that it was made in jersey, and it was tied to the body, and therefore it kind of sculpted the body. And then because it was in a snake and a leopard print, it made you look feline. I’ve touched so many generations with just that one dress, which is unique. I mean, no one has ever had such a thing.

But then from there, I think I have become a pro. And I understand fabric very well. And I understand color very well, and print and shapes. And I work with young designers and Nathan [Jenden, her creative director] and my team from Central Saint Martins. And it’s wonderful because it’s really so nourishing for me, for them. I’m surrounded with young people. I never see people my age. It keeps me very young and relevant. But at the same time, I have so much to give them.
Read the rest here.
About Taliah

I have a deep affinity for style, vintage, music, vacations, friends, and love. My diary of fashion is to share my personal style, random thoughts and experiences with anyone who cares to read. I dont really follow trends, I follow what feels right. Confidence is key. xoxo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments make me smile! Let me know what you're thinking!

