Since it is Black History Month…

Bon jour mademoiselles,
How are we today? Black History Month…hmmm..what can I say about it? I think it’s great… to an extent, however the way I look at it, since this is a fashion blog, I feel like my brown beauties aren’t getting enough support from the high fashion world or THE WORLD for that matter, (but that’s another topic) so I thought to myself, I said “Self” What can I share with the world through my escribitionist views, that will simultaneously speak fashion and Black current events/history and so I came up with the idea to post about black models, or lack there of.
Since the fashion weeks of all major fashion countries are going on (some has passed), it reminded how scarce the black models are and of course it made me frustrated. I mean…what’s the problem, are we not thin enough, are we not beautiful enough…Hell no…so what is it?? There were a couple of new faces sprinkled through the runways but never enough for me. Even for the Victoria’s Secret’s fashion show, I sat in front of my television looking for some cocoa bunnies to sashay down the runway and…Nothing…two to three tops. I won’t vent too much on this subject because I think you get the picture. No matter what color you are, I’m sure it is obvious that we need more Naomi’s, Iman’s, and Liya’s.
Check out some new faces that swept the London, NY, and Milan runways these past weeks. (Chanel Iman isn’t really new (last picture of the four) but she is fairly new. She’s a hot commodity too!

This girl’s body is bangin! Need to get in the gym quick!

Introducing Jourdan Dunn…This chick has been on err’body’s runway this season.

Here are a few more images to leave you guys with.

First picture below is Beverly Johnson who is the first African American cover model of the American Vogue in August 1974.


About Taliah

I have a deep affinity for style, vintage, music, vacations, friends, and love. My diary of fashion is to share my personal style, random thoughts and experiences with anyone who cares to read. I dont really follow trends, I follow what feels right. Confidence is key. xoxo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments make me smile! Let me know what you're thinking!

