Harajuku Fashion


First off, I just want to tell you guys how TIRED I am! It feels like its 3 in the morning and its only 9pm. I’ve been up since 9:30 this morning preparing for my day and I had the best food at the fabby chic restaurant Miss Shirley’s cafe…Theee Best! Any who, I went to D.C. later in the day to support the Japanese culture and hyperculture festival at the Kennedy Center, which was mainly for my boyfriend’s love for Japanese anime (Ain’t I good girlfriend), I tried to keep it a surprise but I couldn’t keep my big mouth shut! The festival was hella dope! It had robots, robots and more robots, which included the Honda robot Asimo (amazing) and it also featured art exhibits in between all of the major theaters and showcases. The best thing behind the art was the messages the artists was trying to feed to us, such as environmental issues and world issues. The best part for me was the Harajuku evening of Japanese streetwear, Lolita Goth and hip hop influenced dancers. Although, my boyfriend and I had to squeeze our tushes on the side steps of the runway, while being dictated by the elderly hairy ushers, it actually turned out to be quite interesting. If you guys arent familiar with the Harajuku fashion, think back to Gwen Stefani and her back-up dancers, the Harajuku girls in her video B-A-N-A-N-A-S and it should come back to you. The show was creative and I was very impressed with the dancers, breakdancing to the tunes of Patti Labelle and Luther Vandross..What?! It was unorthodox but extremely entertaining. I have a few pictures from the show including a robot who says her favorite tee shirt is Hello Kitty. Check out how real she looks!!

DancersRobot

Robot video…not a lot but its a worth a look!

About Taliah

I have a deep affinity for style, vintage, music, vacations, friends, and love. My diary of fashion is to share my personal style, random thoughts and experiences with anyone who cares to read. I dont really follow trends, I follow what feels right. Confidence is key. xoxo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments make me smile! Let me know what you're thinking!

